Suns Announce 2012 Promotional Schedule

Photo Courtesy: Jacksonville Suns

The Suns return to the field and share the excitement of professional baseball with fans to kick off the 2012 season.  The Suns begin their regular season on Thursday, April 5, with a 50th Anniversary Golden Suns Coin Giveaway – the first 3,000 fans receive a 50th Anniversary 1962-2012 Golden Suns Coin.  Fans can also receive a Magnet Schedule and Poster Schedule on Friday, April 6 and the first 1,000 kids receive Fielder’s Gloves on Saturday, April 7 and Suns Silly Bandz to ALL KIDS on Sunday, April 8.

The Baseball Grounds will again host a number of great entertainment acts this season, including classic fan favorites and new performances.  Miami Marlins mascot Billy the Marlin returns to Jacksonville to help Southpaw celebrate his birthday on Sunday, May 6, when ALL KIDS can also receive a special Color-Me Magnet.  The ZOOperstars make three appearances with their kooky characters on Sunday, April 29; Saturday, August 11 and Sunday August 12, while BirdZerk goes berserk with a performance on Friday, June 1.  Breakin’ BBoy McCoy will bring his in-game dancing back to the park on Sunday, August 5. The Suns also host two Bark in the Park After Dark on Saturday, April 7 and Tuesday, May 29 and two Dog Daze of Summer on Sunday, July 1 and Wednesday, August 22.

The Suns have put together another great bobblehead series giveaway this season.  Mike Stanton will lead things off on Saturday, May 19; Alex Rodriquez next on Saturday, June 23; Shane Victorino on Saturday,July 21 and Larry Walker on Saturday, August 4.

The Suns will also have two former Atlanta Braves player appearances on Thursday, July 19 with John Rocker and Friday, July 20 with Dale Murphy!

The Suns have created a concert series at the ballpark this season.  The Suns host two Family Faith Nights on Friday, April 13 and Friday, August 3 and also two Family Faith Days on Sunday, June 24 and Sunday, July 22.  The Suns also have three country concerts lined up on Saturday, April 28; Saturday, May 19 and Saturday, June 9.  Three special concerts will be played at the Baseball Grounds on Saturday, June 23 with a special Dave Matthews Tribute Band, then on Saturday, July 21 when the George Aspinall Band will play on Jimmy Buffet Night and on Saturday, August 4 with the Little Green Men.

The Suns have three Jersey Auction Nights for the 2012 season.  The first will be held on Tuesday, July 3 as the Suns sport a special Patriotic Jersey, then on Saturday, July 21 the Suns will wear a Buffet Style Jersey and finally on Saturday, August 4 the Suns will don the 1987 Jacksonville Expos Blue Jersey.

The Suns will once again share holidays throughout the season as the Suns pay tribute to military service members past and present on Memorial Day Monday, May 28. The holidays continue as we honor our country and Mr. Bragan’s 89th Birthday with a giant fireworks display on Independence Day, Tuesday, July 3.  The Suns will also have the traditional Christmas in August on Friday, August 10.

The Suns’ traditional weekly promotions return for the 2012 season, including Fifty Cent Family Feast Tuesdays, Businessperson’s Specials on Wednesday afternoons, Thursday Night Throwdown, Friday Family Fireworks, and postgame Kids Run the Bases on Sundays.  On Saturday Night the Suns bring back Steak Me Out to the Ballgame for $25, which includes a tender 8 oz. bacon-wrapped filet mignon, baked potato, salad, non-alcoholic beverage and General Admission ticket. Following the success of the past three seasons, Monday evening games are Belly Buster Mondays, where $20 gets fans a Homeplate Box seat along with all-you-can-eat hot dogs, hamburgers, popcorn, ice cream treats and soft drinks.

The Jacksonville Suns are the Double-A Affiliate of the Miami Marlins and are proud members of the Southern League of Professional Baseball Clubs.  The Suns begin the season on Thursday, April 5 against the Huntsville Stars.

Leave a comment

Filed under Extra Bases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s